!TAIKO!

So one of the big things I got into (culturally speaking of course) when I got to Japan and all settled in, was Taiko. I had kind of heard about Taiko, and I had HEARD taiko music (It’s actually fairly heavy in Anime and other shows and games) but I had never really experienced what it was all about.

Lined up to see

And thus: TAIKO!

For those of you that don’t know Taiko is a music ensemble of Japanese War Drums. It began as an instrument for sending signals, and intimidating the enemy, but after being discovered in 1951 by a Jazz performer and used as a Jazz instrument, taiko groups have started popping up everywhere. It’s a fun thing to do and the Japanese groups get really into it.

Warming up

Warming Up

Taiko has been described to me as being 70% Musical 20% physical and 10% Talent. While, yes, music is a big part of it, there is a lot of of moving around, dancing, and flipping of Bachi (the Taiko drumstick, if you will). It’s not surprising to be sore after your first Taiko practice.

I started Taiko sometime in the middle of November last year (2009), when I was looking for something “culture”-y to get into around Japan. I had tried Kyudo (Archery) and a few other things (martial arts, ect) but I wanted to do something with music. The Shamisen, Shakuhachi, Taiko, I was looking at various things. But when a friend (THANKS KOURI) recommended Taiko (he teaches it at his home school back in Michigan) ,I decided to tag along and have been hooked ever since.

Theres nothing like being in a practice hall, the loud banging of Taiko Drums, and the rhythmic beats pounding your body to the core.

They also know how to party

We frequently have random parties where we go out to a nice restuarant to eat.

However, thats not to say that Taiko is all we do. After practices, It almost customary to head over to the 7-11 next door to buy snacks, ect. And last semester Kouri and I would occasionally head over to a small Ramen Stand for dinner. But whenever a student is about to leave, we’ve had a concert, or some other random event, The entire Taiko group usually gets together and we head out to whatever restaurant the “Party-planning committee” has decided on. these restaurants are usually a series of small meals, from fried foods, to random bacon salads, to sweet things I have no idea what to call. It’s always a good time, but usually sad in the end because it is usually the last meal we have with someone who is about to leave.

However, Taiko has been a great experience for me in Japan. It’s an activity I look forward to each week, and It has really helped get music back into my life (outside of my ipod and the radio). I’ve met some great friends and had the opportunity to get to do some things that not a lot of foreigners get to do here (Things like appearing in an Opera). It’s even starting to slowly spread in the US. Maybe I’ll be able to find a Taiko group when I return!

Good Memories

Very Good Memories, Amazing Friends

~ by bene2012 on April 1, 2010.

Leave a comment